Girls Rock For A Cause

Founded only two short years ago, Girls Who Rock is an annual concert in NYC that aims to bring together the strongest voices in technology, entertainment, and design to advocate and fund-raise for girls’ education worldwide. On Friday night, the group staged said concert at the Gramercy Theatre with proceeds from this year’s event benefiting She’s the First, a not-for-profit that focuses specifically on educating girls in the developing world.

Among the artists who performed were up-and-comers KimberlyNichole, Nikki Jean, and Eddy. Of the three newcomers, I was most impressed by KimberlyNichole, who opened with a rousing cover of The White Stripes’ “Seven Nation Army” and closed with inspiring take on Michael Jackson’s “Dirty Diana.” Still, Jean showed a certain penchant for songwriting that has pique my interest for her debut record, which is set for released on July 12th, and Eddy was like a ball of energy up on stage.

More seasoned performers Nina Sky and JoJo rounded out the lineup. I spoke with Nina Sky before the show and the sisters revealed that they had only first heard about the event a mere week before it was scheduled to take place, but they made a point of signing up. JoJo, however, has been involved with the organization for a while now, which was evident from her effusive praise for the event and its organizers. Both artists’ sets were great but, the night belonged to JoJo, who blew the roof off with her four song set. Down below I’ve embedded video footage of the 20-year old performing her new single “Jumping Trains” and a PSA she recorded for She’s the First. Anyone interested in donating to the charity can do so by visiting THIS LINK.



Third Man Records Hits The Road

Almost lost in the SXSW shuffle was an appearance by Jack White and his newest project.

No, not a new band but a mobile record store! The Third Man Rolling Record Store debuted on last Saturday, with an appearance by Jack and his newest record label signee, Seasick Steve.

White humored the amassed crowd with a brief, two-song performance (Buddy Holly’s “Not Fade Away” and the White Stripe’s  “Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground”) before giving the impromptu stage up for Seasick Steve.

After the brief concert, fans got to tour the Rolling Record Store, with its reinforced vinyl racks and the interior and exterior sound systems. Coated in Third Man Records trademark yellow and black, the truck looks both brand new and retro.

Jack sat down to an interview with Pitchfork which you can see right here. Below check out both White and Seasick Steve’s solo performances.

Black Pistol Fire Gear Up For Self-Titled LP Release

Austin duo Black Pistol Fire recently announced the release date for the self-titled debut LP for February 2011.  Taking the term “garage band” literally, Black Pistol Fire rented out a garage in Austin to write the 13 tracks that would make up their debut release before recording the album in an abandoned Detroit building with producer Jim Diamond (The White Stripes, The Von Bondies, Jon Spencer Blues Explosion).  The result is a southern rock n’ roll modern sound mixed with the edgy sound of punk resulting in a style similar to that of Kings of Leon and The Black Keys but certainly all their own.  

Black Pistol Fire features Kevin McKeown on guitar and lead vocals, and Eric Owen on drums.  The two grew up in Toronto, Canada and have been friends since kindergarten.  After their first band, The Shenanigans, disbanded, McKeown and Owen headed south for warmer climates and settled in Austin.  They will release their debut LP on February 15th, 2011 on Rifle Bird Records.  

Black Pistol Fire track-listing

1. Cold Sun

2. Suffocation Blues

3. Where You Been Before

4. Jezebel Stomp

5. You’re Not The Only One

6. Trigger On My Fire

7. Sort Me Out

8. Black Eyed Susan

9. Jackknife Darlin’

10. Silent Blue

11. Without Love

12. Bottle Rocket

13. So Heavy


Jack White: Vinyl Inventor

Jack White may as well as add inventor to his growing list of accomplishments. The Dead Weather/White Stripes/Raconteurs frontman has invented what he’s christened “the Triple Decker Record.” And the maiden voyage for this vinyl venture? The Dead Weather’s upcoming single “Blue Blood Blues.”

The band will be releasing the single in the new vinyl, but also in 7” and 12” formats with appropriate besides. Not sure how this contraption will work? Check out Mr. White himself explaining his new invention below.

“Blue Blood Blues” is available now.

Cage the Elephant ‘Ain’t No Rest for the Wicked’

Sometimes late night music videos capture my attention. Case in point, Cage the Elephant, a band that has been surrounded by a ‘great big buzz’ lately. The Kentucky five piece who started gaining attention in the UK before they even broke out here, have been making waves with their first single ‘Ain’t No Rest for the Wicked’. The tune sounds like the love child between The White Stripes and The Black Keys, both flattering comparisions. Blending a bit of soul and blues into their rock and roll vibe, Cage the Elephant is already on their way to being the next ‘big thing’.

Check out Cage the Elephant’s video for ‘Ain’t No Rest for the Wicked’

Tourdates and More Music over on their MYSPACE