Black Pistol Fire Gear Up For Self-Titled LP Release

Austin duo Black Pistol Fire recently announced the release date for the self-titled debut LP for February 2011.  Taking the term “garage band” literally, Black Pistol Fire rented out a garage in Austin to write the 13 tracks that would make up their debut release before recording the album in an abandoned Detroit building with producer Jim Diamond (The White Stripes, The Von Bondies, Jon Spencer Blues Explosion).  The result is a southern rock n’ roll modern sound mixed with the edgy sound of punk resulting in a style similar to that of Kings of Leon and The Black Keys but certainly all their own.  

Black Pistol Fire features Kevin McKeown on guitar and lead vocals, and Eric Owen on drums.  The two grew up in Toronto, Canada and have been friends since kindergarten.  After their first band, The Shenanigans, disbanded, McKeown and Owen headed south for warmer climates and settled in Austin.  They will release their debut LP on February 15th, 2011 on Rifle Bird Records.  

Black Pistol Fire track-listing

1. Cold Sun

2. Suffocation Blues

3. Where You Been Before

4. Jezebel Stomp

5. You’re Not The Only One

6. Trigger On My Fire

7. Sort Me Out

8. Black Eyed Susan

9. Jackknife Darlin’

10. Silent Blue

11. Without Love

12. Bottle Rocket

13. So Heavy