Song of the Day: Conor Oberst And The Mystic Valley Band – “Nikorette”


Bright Eyes Returns with New Album This Winter!

Conor Oberst fans rejoice! Bright Eyes is BACK! The group will release their newest, and 7th album on February 15, 2011 via Saddle Creek. Titled The People’s Key, will feature ten new tracks from the Oberst, Mike Mogis, Nathaniel Walcott trio.

Additional players on the record include Andy LeMaster, (Now It’s Overhead), Matt Maginn (Cursive), Carla Azar (Autolux), Clark Baechle (The Faint), Shane Aspegren (The Berg Sans Nipple), Laura Burhenn (The Mynabirds) and Denny Brewer (Refried Ice Cream).

What will this sound like you may ask…well we guess it’s too early to tell. The follow-up to Cassadega (Saddle Creek) was a long wait as Oberst dabbled in solo projects and super groups. This could also be the last Bright Eyes record if anyone recalls Conor stating that a few years ago. We will have to wait and see for sure.

Bright Eyes have just announced two shows to get us even more excited about the album release. One at Radio City Music Hall in New York City and the other at Royal Albert Hall in London. You can find the information regarding those shows below. The pre-sales begin TOMORROW, so be sure to have your mouse clicker finger ready.

Take a peek at the show information AND the tracklisting for the new LP. 2011 is already starting off with a bang in indie rock.

Live shows & on sale info:
March 9th New York, NY Radio City Music Hall*
June 23rd London, UK Royal Albert Hall#

*Pre-Sale Begins: December 1 at 12PM EST. Public On-Sale: December 4 at 10AM EST
# Pre-Sale Begins: December 1 at 12PM EST. Public On-Sale: Saturday, December 4 at 9AM

Full track list for The People’s Key
1 Firewall
2 Shell Games
3 Jejune Stars 4 Approximate Sunlight
5 Haile Selassie
6 A Machine Spiritual (In The People’s Key)
7 Triple Spiral
8 Beginner’s Mind
9 Ladder Song
10 One For You, One For Me

Monsters of Folk Release New Video, Contest Details!

It’s safe to say that everything Conor Oberst has his hands in turns to gold. Monsters of Folk, who also features M. Ward, Mike Mogis and Jim James are just wrapping up their extremely successful tour this weekend, want the fans to get involved in the fun. The band has just released their new video for the track “Say Please,” which is a stunning display of an earlier carefree time in life. Monsters of Folk play to a group of 1920’s rollerskaters who seem almost oblivious the band is even playing. With beautiful colors and strings of Christmas lights, it’s a sight that must be seen.

Though Oberst and company are already looking ahead to the next video, and that is where the fans come in. Monsters of Folk are running a contest for the next single “Dear God (Sincerely M.O.F.).” Teaming up with Apple/Quicktime and Death & Taxes Magazine, the band is challenging people to make their own creative music video for the song. The winning video will be posted live, and the winner will also win $5,000, a Gibson guitar signed by the band, and a copy of the new Final Cut Studio Software. The Top 5 finalists will all win signed vinyl copies of the album from the band. Talk about a happy holiday!

To enter the contest head over to Shangri-La Record’s Website

Watch Monsters of Folk “Say Please”

Monsters of Folk (Featuring Conor Oberst, Mike Mogis, M Ward & Jim James)

Indie rock just added another super group to the repertoire, Monsters of Folk.  Conor Oberst, Mike Mogis (Bright Eyes), M. Ward and Jim James (My Morning Jacket) are on the verge of releasing their first record together, their self titled album out September 22nd (Shangri-La Music). This is surely one of the most interesting and anticipated releases of the year.

 It’s amazing that Oberst who is busy all on his own with the Mystic Valley Band has time for another band, but we’re glad he does. The record is produced by Mogis who has also been working with other musicians such as Pete Yorn lately. As the band exchange vocals throughout, the way they fit together will amaze you. These songs become more perfect with every listen. This is one album you must pick up!

Monsters of Folk are hitting the road starting in October, so be sure not to miss out!

Listen to Monsters of Folk on MYSPACE

Monsters of Folk Tracklisting

1.    Dear God (sincerely M.O.F.)
2.    Say Please
3.    Whole Lotta Losin’
4.    Temazcal
5.    The Right Place
6.    Baby Boomer
7.    Man Named Truth
8.    Goodway
9.    Ahead of the Curve
10.  Slow Down Jo
11.  Losin Yo Head
12.  Magic Marker
13.  Map Of The World
14.  The Sandman, the Brakeman and Me
15.  His Master’s Voice

Julian Casablancas to Release Solo Album

Just when we thought, or were promised really, that a new album by The Strokes was on the way, it was recently released that frontman Julian Casablancas is releasing a solo album of his own. I guess the big question here is, ‘What took so long?’ since nearly all of the other members have been working on other projects. With all of that aside, I have a feeling that this  will possibly be the most popular of The Strokes’ side projects. The album will be titled ‘Phrazes For the Young’  and include songs such as ‘Brake Lights’  and ‘Ludlow’.  It was produced by Jason Lader with additional work by Bright Eyes’ Mike Mogis (who oddly just produced the new Pete Yorn album. Guess he is settling in since Bright Eyes is only making one more record together before Conor goes solo for good). Casablancas will hit the road this year with a series of special show dates and then a mini solo tour to follow at the end of 2009. I’m going to take a longshot and say he will probably appear at CMJ. Will we finally get that new Strokes record this year? Guess we’ll have to wait and see. They said they were working on it. Sigh. Quite frankily, I just miss The Strokes.

Get a taste of Julian solo at