Monsters of Folk (Featuring Conor Oberst, Mike Mogis, M Ward & Jim James)

Indie rock just added another super group to the repertoire, Monsters of Folk.  Conor Oberst, Mike Mogis (Bright Eyes), M. Ward and Jim James (My Morning Jacket) are on the verge of releasing their first record together, their self titled album out September 22nd (Shangri-La Music). This is surely one of the most interesting and anticipated releases of the year.

 It’s amazing that Oberst who is busy all on his own with the Mystic Valley Band has time for another band, but we’re glad he does. The record is produced by Mogis who has also been working with other musicians such as Pete Yorn lately. As the band exchange vocals throughout, the way they fit together will amaze you. These songs become more perfect with every listen. This is one album you must pick up!

Monsters of Folk are hitting the road starting in October, so be sure not to miss out!

Listen to Monsters of Folk on MYSPACE

Monsters of Folk Tracklisting

1.    Dear God (sincerely M.O.F.)
2.    Say Please
3.    Whole Lotta Losin’
4.    Temazcal
5.    The Right Place
6.    Baby Boomer
7.    Man Named Truth
8.    Goodway
9.    Ahead of the Curve
10.  Slow Down Jo
11.  Losin Yo Head
12.  Magic Marker
13.  Map Of The World
14.  The Sandman, the Brakeman and Me
15.  His Master’s Voice


One thought on “Monsters of Folk (Featuring Conor Oberst, Mike Mogis, M Ward & Jim James)

  1. eeee!! I can’t wait to listen to that album…I am sure it will be nothing less than indie rock perfection. I will definitely not miss them live 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s