The Wellspring To Tour With Ben Kweller And Pete Yorn

The Los Angeles-based duo, The Wellspring, made up of Dov Rosenblatt and Talia Osteen, will be joining Ben Kweller and Pete Yorn on tour. They will be kicking off two months on the road in Phoenix, AZ on Valentine’s Day and end in April in Austin, TX. In addition to that, they will also be re-releasing the self-titled EP in a new edition with two additional tracks, “Tug Of War” and “Let Me Go.”

Here are their upcoming tour dates:

2/14 – Phoenix, AZ @ Marquee

2/16 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Depot

2/17 – Denver, CO @ Ogden

2/19 – Omaha, NE @ Whisky Roadhouse

2/20 – Kansas City, MO @ VooDoo Lounge

2/22 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue

2/23 – Chicago, IL @ The Vic Theatre

2/26 – Urbana, IL @ The Canpoy Club

2/27 – St. Louis, MO @ The Pageant

3/1 – Indianapolis, IN @ Vogue Theatre

3/5 – Toronto, ON @ The Opera House

3/6 – Syracuse, NY @ The Westcott

3/2 – Columbus, OH @ Newport Music Hall

3/8 – Boston, MA @ House of Blues

3/10 – Philadelphia, PA @ Trocadero

3/14 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club

3/16 – Charlottesville, VA @ The Jefferson Theater

4/2 – Vancouver, BC @ Commodore Ballroom

4/3 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom

4/5 – San Francisco, CA @ Regency

4/6 – Los Angeles, CA @ Wiltern

4/9 – San Diego, CA @ House of Blues

4/10 – Anaheim, CA @ House of Blues

4/14 – Houston, TX @ House of Blues

4/16 – Austin, TX @ Stubbs BBQ


Portland Singer-Songwriter Anya Marina Releases EP

Anya Marina has been quite busy the last couple years. With the release of her second record Slow & Steady Seduction: Phase II (2009), Marina gained mainstream attention, along with a song on the New Moon Soundtrack. While working on a new full length album, Marina gives fans something to chew on with a new EP titled The Spirit School.

A slight departure from previous work, School Spirit features five tracks, including a remix of her New Moon song “Satellite Heart” by Sam Fogarino of Interpol. A more stripped down and “less fussed over” approach to recording and songwriting than previous efforts, Spirit School features Marina “having fun with songwriting again.”

Spirit School also touts Dandy Warhols frontman Courtney Taylor-Taylor on the song “Whatsit.” “Busrider” and “You Are Invisible” are home demos made pretty by producer Ken Andrews (Pete Yorn, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, etc).

Look for Spirit School  out TODAY on Chop Shop Records/Atlantic Records.

“Whatsit” featuring Courtney Taylor-Taylor of The Dandy Warhols.

Monsters of Folk (Featuring Conor Oberst, Mike Mogis, M Ward & Jim James)

Indie rock just added another super group to the repertoire, Monsters of Folk.  Conor Oberst, Mike Mogis (Bright Eyes), M. Ward and Jim James (My Morning Jacket) are on the verge of releasing their first record together, their self titled album out September 22nd (Shangri-La Music). This is surely one of the most interesting and anticipated releases of the year.

 It’s amazing that Oberst who is busy all on his own with the Mystic Valley Band has time for another band, but we’re glad he does. The record is produced by Mogis who has also been working with other musicians such as Pete Yorn lately. As the band exchange vocals throughout, the way they fit together will amaze you. These songs become more perfect with every listen. This is one album you must pick up!

Monsters of Folk are hitting the road starting in October, so be sure not to miss out!

Listen to Monsters of Folk on MYSPACE

Monsters of Folk Tracklisting

1.    Dear God (sincerely M.O.F.)
2.    Say Please
3.    Whole Lotta Losin’
4.    Temazcal
5.    The Right Place
6.    Baby Boomer
7.    Man Named Truth
8.    Goodway
9.    Ahead of the Curve
10.  Slow Down Jo
11.  Losin Yo Head
12.  Magic Marker
13.  Map Of The World
14.  The Sandman, the Brakeman and Me
15.  His Master’s Voice

Julian Casablancas to Release Solo Album

Just when we thought, or were promised really, that a new album by The Strokes was on the way, it was recently released that frontman Julian Casablancas is releasing a solo album of his own. I guess the big question here is, ‘What took so long?’ since nearly all of the other members have been working on other projects. With all of that aside, I have a feeling that this  will possibly be the most popular of The Strokes’ side projects. The album will be titled ‘Phrazes For the Young’  and include songs such as ‘Brake Lights’  and ‘Ludlow’.  It was produced by Jason Lader with additional work by Bright Eyes’ Mike Mogis (who oddly just produced the new Pete Yorn album. Guess he is settling in since Bright Eyes is only making one more record together before Conor goes solo for good). Casablancas will hit the road this year with a series of special show dates and then a mini solo tour to follow at the end of 2009. I’m going to take a longshot and say he will probably appear at CMJ. Will we finally get that new Strokes record this year? Guess we’ll have to wait and see. They said they were working on it. Sigh. Quite frankily, I just miss The Strokes.

Get a taste of Julian solo at

Merry Mixmas!

Merry Christmas

Christmas is one of my favorite times of the year. One of the things I enjoy about the season, is Holiday music. But of course, the Modern Mystery version of Christmas music is a bit different from Lou Monte and Peggy Lee. I always find great amusement out of indie bands’ versions of Christmas songs. They just seem to put an unusual and surprising twist on Holiday tunes that get me into the Christmas spirit. Move over Perry Como, there are some new kids in town….

Below for your downloading convience, are some of my favorite indie Christmas songs. Enjoy!

Casper and the Cookies- “Kiss Me Beneath the Christmas Tree”
My First Keyboard- “Christmas Time is Good if You Are a Girl (Boy)”
Bright Eyes- “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”
Phantom Planet- “Winter Wonderland”
Ryan Adams- “Hey Parker, Its Christmas”
OK Go- “Father Christmas”
The Raveonettes- “Christmas Song”
Death Cab for Cutie- “Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)”
Ladybug Transistor- “Holiday Extravangza”
Of Montreal- “My Favorite Christmas (in 100 Words or Less)”
Sufjan Stevens- “Come On, Lets Boogie to the Elf Dance”
Rooney – “Merry Christmas Everybody”
Essex Green- “Deck the Halls”
The Bird and the Bee- “Carol of the Bells”
The Features- “Christmas Wishbook”
Frightened Rabbit- “Its Christmas So We’ll Stop”
Matt Pond PA- “Snow Day”
Old 97’s -“Holly Jolly Christmas”
Reigning Sound-  “If Christmas Can’t Bring You Home”
Rogue Wave- “Christmas”
Reindeer Section- ” You Are My Joy”
Dressy Bessy- “All the Right Reasons”
Pete Yorn- “Do They Know Its Christmas?”