Pygmalion Festival Announces Dates and Initial Lineup

The Pygmalion Festival (located in the idyllic Midwestern town of Champaign-Urbana, Ill.) recently announced their band lineup for this year’s music extravaganza. Currently the September 21-24 festival will include Japandroids, Toro y Moi, Deerhoof, Viva Voce, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, The Hood Internet, Mansions on the Moon, Ava Luna, Brass Bed, Adam Arcuragi, Jessica Lea Mayfield, Ivan and Alyosha, The Parsons Red Heads and more with Explosions in the Sky headlining. This year the festival will be celebrating the 15th anniversary of the indie label Polyvinyl Records. The all-day outdoor Polyvinyl showcase will feature the artists from the label’s roster including Deerhoof, Japandroids, Xiu Xiu, STRFKR, Owen, Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin, and Asobi Seksu as well as the long awaited reunion of local heroes Braid. Early Bird Festival passes go on sale Friday May 6, 2011 at 12 p.m. CST and cost $60. The price will be increased to $65 and $70 at later dates. The festival pass guarantees admission into every show at the festival, depending on capacity limitations. Single tickets for every show will be available as well.

Single show tickets for Explosions in the Sky will cost $20 in advance. The Polyvinyl 15 Year Anniversary Party will cost $25 in advance. Both of those shows will go on sale Friday May 13, 2011 at 12 p.m. online and at local Champaign-Urbana outlets.


Helvetia Return With New CD

Helvetia is all set to release their newest album, On the Lam on April 12th via Static Cult Label.

The album is made up of twelve tracks culled from the forty tracks that the band had recorded. You can listen to the album’s title-track right now over at Magnet (check it out here).

Helvetia is a psychedelic rock outfit that is the brainchild of Jason Albertini and Canaan Dove Amber. The two re-united after Albertini finished working with a variety of different bands, including Xiu Xiu, Papercuts and Mike Johnson & The Evil Doers.

You can find On the Lam in stores or online on April 12th. The album’s track list goes like this:

1. Saucer of Dread

2. Bring Me The Knives

3. On the Lam

4. Arise Pt. 1

5. Sixes

6. Ground Plane

7. Below The Salt

8. This One

9. Hustle & Sparrow

10. The Mountain

11. Here Is Just Anywhere

12. A Patient Ma


Xiu Xiu & J. Morrison Unveil Art T-Shirt Subscription

Xiu Xiu frontman Jamie Stewart and artist J. Morrison have teamed up for a different type of collaboration. The pair will work together on handmade art shirts featuring influential figures in their lives. The first shirt features Queen’s Freddie Mercury. Every month will bring about a new and unique shirt. The shirts are available for individual purchase ($20 to $25 plus $4.95 shipping in the U.S.) or for a year long subscription ($200 plus $50 shipping in the U.S.) that will feature a 13th shirt not available for individual purchase. For International orders, shipping is $9.95 individually or $100 for the subscription. Order the shirts here and here.

Blue Water White Death Unveil New Video

Blue Water White Death, the collaboration between Xiu Xiu’s Jamie Stewart and Shearwater’s Jonathan Meiburg, has already been named one of the most anticipated albums of the year by Flavorpil. And now, on the heels of the album’s release, the duo has released a music video for their track “Grunt Tube.” Check out the video below.


Deerhoof Sign to Polyvinyl

Deerhoof has just spilled the beans that they are leaving their longtime indie label Kill Rock Stars, and has hopped on the Polyvinyl Records train. The California band is set to release their newest album, Deerhoof vs. Evil on January 25th. Joyful Noise will handle the cassette release (really? what is with the tapes everyone??).

In PV fashion, there will be some special things involving the new record. The label will be putting out a limited edition of 2,000 pink vinyl copies with the CD and Download versions. The tee shirt will also come with a download for it is as well.

You can listen to the first track on the label’s site titled “The Merry Barracks.” Head over to the Polyvinyl site to download the new track for free!

Deerhoof vs. Evil Tracklisting:

01 Qui Dorm, Només Somia
02 Behold a Marvel in the Darkness
03 The Merry Barracks
04 No One Asked to Dance
05 Let’s Dance the Jet
06 Super Duper Rescue Heads!
07 Must Fight Current
08 Secret Mobilization
09 Hey I Can
10 C’Moon
11 I Did Crimes for You
12 Almost Everyone, Almost Always

Remaining Deerhoof Tour Dates

10-11 Portland, ME – Space Gallery *^
10-12 Milford, CT – Daniel Street *^
10-13 New York, NY – Le Poisson Rouge ^
12-03-05 Minehead, England – All Tomorrow’s Parties

* with Xiu Xiu
^ with Father Murphy

New York City’s Weekend Show Round Up


Electric Six, The Constellations, The Fake Problems @ Bowery Ballroom

Parallels, Erika Forster (of Au Revoir Simone – DJ Set), Alex English, Michael Trundle @ Brooklyn Bowl

The Library Is On Fire, Bad Cop, Total Slacker, My Teenage Stride @ Don Pedro

SHAPES, Night Manager, Sex Beet, The Static Jacks, Dirty Faces @ Shea Stadium

Eels, Jessica Hoop @ Terminal 5

The Boxer Rebellion, Amusement Parks on Fire, Augustines @ The Bell House

Titus Andronicus, Free Energy @ Webster Hall


Merzbow, Xiu Xiu, Ecstatic Sunshine, Gentle @ (le) poisson rouge

Margot and The Nuclear So & So’s, The Lonely Forest, Cameron McGill & What Army @ Bowery Ballroom

They Might Be Giants @ Town Hall

Teenage Fanclub, Radar Brothers @ Bowery Ballroom

Hurricane Bells, A Million Years, Overlord @ The Rock Shop