Deerhoof Says “Hey I Can”

As part of a unique way to gain exposure for their upcoming album Deerhoof vs. Evil, Deerhoof has been releasing tracks as part of a “Global Album Leak” giving audiences a chance to hear one track at a time each week until the album is officially released on January 25th

Their track-dropping world tour embarked in October with the track “The Merry Barracks” in Chicago and they have since released them in places like Spain, England and as far as Australia.  This week, Deerhoof leaked their next single “Hey I Can” in Japan which was a perfect setting for a song with hints of Asian flair mixed into the positive lyrics of vocalist Satomi Matsuzaki. 

Satomi mentions that she wanted to write a positive song and say “I Can” as many times as she could and that is exactly what she did.  Accompanying her light and energetic voice, the song ranges from an Asian tribal feel with clanging chimes to a modern rock song with deep lying bass lines and thrashing drumbeats and ever changing tempos.  And with Matsuzaki’s mixture of English and Japanese lyrics everything on this song blends together to form a fun and funky treat for your ears.  

Listen to Deerhoof’s latest track here.

You can take your own journey and treat your ears to more delightful sounds of Deerhoof’s latest album here.

Deerhoof Sign to Polyvinyl

Deerhoof has just spilled the beans that they are leaving their longtime indie label Kill Rock Stars, and has hopped on the Polyvinyl Records train. The California band is set to release their newest album, Deerhoof vs. Evil on January 25th. Joyful Noise will handle the cassette release (really? what is with the tapes everyone??).

In PV fashion, there will be some special things involving the new record. The label will be putting out a limited edition of 2,000 pink vinyl copies with the CD and Download versions. The tee shirt will also come with a download for it is as well.

You can listen to the first track on the label’s site titled “The Merry Barracks.” Head over to the Polyvinyl site to download the new track for free!

Deerhoof vs. Evil Tracklisting:

01 Qui Dorm, Només Somia
02 Behold a Marvel in the Darkness
03 The Merry Barracks
04 No One Asked to Dance
05 Let’s Dance the Jet
06 Super Duper Rescue Heads!
07 Must Fight Current
08 Secret Mobilization
09 Hey I Can
10 C’Moon
11 I Did Crimes for You
12 Almost Everyone, Almost Always

Remaining Deerhoof Tour Dates

10-11 Portland, ME – Space Gallery *^
10-12 Milford, CT – Daniel Street *^
10-13 New York, NY – Le Poisson Rouge ^
12-03-05 Minehead, England – All Tomorrow’s Parties

* with Xiu Xiu
^ with Father Murphy