Junk Culture Premiere New Video, “Summer Friends”

jc

Illegal Art released Junk Culture’s album Summer Friends in February, and now, here’s is the video for the song, “Summer Friends”! It’s funny, slightly retro, colorful, just like the song and a good showcase of the one-man band that is Deepak Mantena.

Watch the video below:

Advertisements

Junk Culture Preview New Single, Announce Tour With Girl Talk

jc

On February 1st, 2011, Junk Culture will release their newest 5-track, Summer Friends, via Illegal Art. The record was built form a collection of recordings made up over a lifetime by Deepak Mantena, Junk Culture’s main man. he describes the end product as “cosmic R’n’B” but it also contains Indian influences backed up by booming electro beats. Proof is below, with the title single, “Summer Friends.”

You can catch Junk Culture on tour in February and March with Max Tundra and fellow Illegal Art artist, Girl Talk. Mantena is known for putting on energetic live shows mixed in with video samples, so don’t miss it if “Summer Friends” tickles your interest.

02.24.11 – New York, New York. Terminal 5 (with Girl Talk and Max Tundra)

02.25.11 – Providence , Rhode Island. Lupos Heartbreak Hotel (with Girl Talk and Max Tundra)

02.26.11 – Boston, Massachusetts. House of Blues Boston (with Girl Talk and Max Tundra)

03.01.11 – Montreal, Quebec. Metropolis (with Girl Talk and Max Tundra)

03.03.11 – Plymouth , Michigan. Compuware Sports Arena (with Girl Talk and Max Tundra)

03.04.11 – Chicago, Illinois. Congress Theater (with Girl Talk)

03.05.11 – Chicago, Illinois. Congress Theater (with Girl Talk and Max Tundra)

03.08.11 – Madison , Wisconsin. Orpheum Theater Madison (with Girl Talk and Max Tundra)

03.11.11 – Denver, Colorado. Ogden Theater (with Girl Talk and Max Tundra)

03.12.11 – Denver, Colorado. Ogden Theater (with Girl Talk and Max Tundra)

03.15.11 – Seattle, Washington. Showbox (with Girl Talk and Max Tundra)

03.17.11 – Portland, Oregon. Roseland Theater (with Girl Talk and Max Tundra)

03.18.11 – Oakland, California. Fox Theater (with Girl Talk and Max Tundra)

03.19.11 – Pomonoa , California. The Fox Theatre (with Girl Talk and Max Tundra)

03.21.11 – Los Angeles, California. Hollywood Palladium (with Girl Talk and Max Tundra)

03.23.11 – Tempe, Arizona. Marquee Theatre (with Girl Talk and Max Tundra)

 

 

Girl Talk’s New CD Is Cheaper Than Dirt

Well…store-bought dirt anyway.  The CD All Day is one of Girl Talk’s (aka Gregg Gillis) most complex to date, and it’s completely free. It measures in at 71 minutes and a mind-boggling 373 song samples.

You can download it for free. Just click HERE and the CD is almost yours. No emails, no required donations (although I’m sure he wouldn’t mind if you did donate).

It’s been a crazy year for Girl Talk already, playing Congress Theater in Chicago for New Years and hitting up the festival circuit. Gillis isn’t taking any breaks, either. He will be out on the road to support All Day throughout March. If you like the CD, you can go support Girl Talk and get an amazing show in the process. It’s a win win.

Tour Dates:

Fri. 11/19/10 – Buenos Aires, Argentina @ Hot Festival

Sat. 11/20/10 – Sao Paulo, Brasil @ Planeta Terra Festival

Tue. 11/23/10 – Santiago, Chile @ Centro Cultural Amanda

Fri. 12/3/10 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Stage AE

Sat. 12/4/10 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Stage AE

Fri. 12/31/10 – Milwaukee, WI @ The Rave

Wed. 01/05/11 – Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues

Thu. 01/06/11 – Columbus, OH @ LC Pavillion

Fri. 01/07/11 – Covington, KY @ Madison Theater

Sat. 01/08/11 – Louisville, KY @ Expo Five

Mon. 01/10/11 – New Orleans, LA @ House of Blues

Thu. 01/13/11 – Houston, TX @ House of Blues

Fri. 01/14/11 – Austin, TX @ Austin Music Hall

Sat. 01/15/11 – Dallas, TX @ Palladium

Mon. 01/17/11 – Memphis, TN @ Minglewood Hall

Tue. 01/18/11 – St. Louis, MO @ The Pageant

Thu. 01/20/11 – Birmingham, AL @ Workplay

Fri. 01/21/11 – Atlanta, GA @ Tabernacle

Sat. 01/22/11 – Charleston, SC @ Gaillard Municipal Auditorium

Mon. 01/24/11 – Knoxville, TN @ Valarium

Tue. 01/25/11 – Charlotte, NC @ The Fillmore

Thu. 01/27/11 – Raleigh, NC @ Disco Rodeo

Fri. 01/28/11 – Norfolk, VA @ NorVa

Sat. 01/29/11 – Richmond, VA @ The National

Mon. 01/31/11 – Baltimore, MD @ Ram’s Head

Tue. 02/01/11 – Washington, D.C. @ 9:30 Club

Fri. 02/04/11 – Philadelphia, PA @ Electric Factory

Sat. 02/05/11 – Montclair, NJ @ Wellmont Theatre

Thu. 02/24/11 – New York, NY @ Terminal 5 (SOLD OUT)

Fri. 02/25/11 – Providence, RI @ Lupo’s

Sat. 02/26/11 – Boston, MA @ House of Blues

Mon. 02/28/11 – Portland, ME @ State Theater

Mon. 03/01/11 – Montreal, QC @ Metropolis

Thu. 03/03/11 – Royal Oak, MI @ Royal Oak Music Hall

Fri. 03/04/11 – Chicago, IL @ Congress Theater

Mon. 03/07/11 – Madison, WI @ Orpheum

Tue. 03/08/11 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Ave

Fri. 03/11/11 – Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre

Mon. 03/14/11 – Missoula, MT @ Wilma Theater

Tue. 03/15/11 – Seattle, WA @ Showbox

Thu. 03/17/11 – Portland, OR @ Roseland

Fri. 03/18/11 – Oakland, CA @ Fox Theater

Sat. 03/19/11 – Pomona, CA @ Fox Theatre

Mon. 03/21/10 – Los Angeles, CA @ Palladium

Tue. 03/22/10 – San Diego, CA @ SOMA

Wed. 03/23/10 – Tempe, AX @ Marquee