XRay Eyeballs Premiere Single and Announce Tour

Brooklyn pop group XRay Eyeballs has announced their debut LP, Not Nothing, will be released on April 19th.  Tracklisting is as follows:

1. Crystal
2. Nightwalkers
3. Egyptian Magician
4. Po’ Jam
5. Drums Not Dead
6. Broken Beds
7. Xray Eyeballs Theme
8. Big Toe
9. Kam Sing Knights
10. Fake  Wedding
11. Escape From That Girl

The first single will be “Crystal:”
http://player.soundcloud.com/player.swf?url=http%3A%2F%2Fapi.soundcloud.com%2Ftracks%2F10307540Xray Eyeballs “Crystal” by HOZAC RECORDS

You can catch XRay Eyeballs at the following spots and dates:

2/18 – The Gutter – Brooklyn, NY
2/23 – Don Hill’s – New York, NY
  3/7 – Black Cat – Washington, DC* 
3/9 – Pinhook – Durham, NC & 
 3/10 – Little KIngs – Athens, GA 
 3/11 – 529 – Atlanta, GA 
 3/12 – Savannah Stopover Festival – Savannah, GA 
 3/13 – Siberia – New Orleans, LA 
 3/14 – Warehouse Live – Houston, TX 
3/15 – 3/20 – SXSW – Austin, TX
3/22 – Valley of the Vapors Festival – Hot Springs, AK
 3/23 – Hi Tone – Memphis, TN $ 
 3/24 – Schubas Tavern – Chicago, IL %
 3/25 – Atlas Bar – Detroit, MI @
 3/26 – Beachland Ballroom – Cleveland, OH 
* w/JEFF the Brotherhood
& w/Spider Bags
$ w/Surf City, PUJOL, Turbo Fruits
% w/Nones
@ w/Terrible Twos


Modern Mystery’s Top 25 Songs of 2010

1. Of Montreal – “Sex Karma” featuring Solange Knowles
2. Vampire Weekend – “Cousins”
3. Love Language – “Heart to Tell”
4. Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin – “Everlyn”
5. Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti -“Fright Night (Nevermore)”
6. Morning Benders – “Promises”
7. Jukebox the Ghost – “Half Crazy”
8.  The Drums – “Let’s Go Surfing”
9. Surfer Blood – “Swim”
10. We Are Scientists – “Rules Don’t Stop”
11. Wavves – “King of the Beach”
12. Free Energy – “Bang Pop”
13. Magic Kids – “Hey Boy”
14. Robbers on High Street – “Electric Eye”
15. Beach Fossils – “Youth”
16. Javelin – “Oh! Centra”
17. Matt Pond PA – “Starting”
18. Miniature Tigers – “Gold Skull”
19. Ra Ra Riot – “Boy”
20. Best Coast – “Boyfriend”
21. Sufjan Stevens – “From the Mouth of Gabriel”
22. Hot Hot Heat – “21@12”
23. Tame Impala – “Alter Ego”
24. Caribou – “Odessa”
25. Jenny and Johnny – “Big Wave”

Surf City Gives ‘Kudos’

It has been a long time since a band could combine elements of early ‘80s alternative with the velvety guitar melodies of ‘90s college rock to the poetic lyrics of many indie bands of today, but New Zealand’s Surf City has managed to do all of that and still sound original and on the edge of something truly spectacular. 

Surf City was formed by guitar mavens Davin Stoddard and Josh Kennedy.  They quickly added Josh’s brother Jamie on bass and Logan Collins on drums and from there the group was complete.  Driven with a passion to create some of the best psychedelic pop music around, they sought out Steve Keene who had previously worked with bands Pavement and Silver Jews to produce their self titled EP.  Upon the release of their first EP, Surf City immediately gained momentum which did not go unnoticed as they impressed music Web sites Stereogum and All Music. 

Surf City released their long awaited debut album Kudos on Fire Records on November 30th to a lot of buzz with the band being hailed as New Zealand’s most hyped and possibly best indie band to emerge in a very long time.  The first two singles, “Crazy Rulers of The World” and “Kudos” have already whet the palettes of music lovers everywhere leaving them all wanting more.