Modern Mystery’s Top 20 Songs of the Year

2009 was an incredible year for songs. No doubt about it. Even some of the last minute yearly additions were able to sweep the early year competitors off of their feet. In 2009 there was a surprise around every corner with the quality of songs written. I’m not sure there could have been a better ending to the decade. Check out our Top 20 Songs below!

1. Matt Pond PA- “Starting”
2. Wooden Birds- “False Alarm”
3. Grizzly Bear- “Two Weeks”
4. The Drums-“Let’s Go Surfing”
5. The Spinto Band- “Jackhammer”
6. Sloan-“Take it Upon Yourself”
7. Vampire Weekend-“Cousins”
8. Ryan Adams-“Go Ahead and Rain”
9. Julian Casablancas- “11th Dimension”
10. Yeah Yeah Yeahs-“Zero”
11. James Husband- “A Grave in the Gravel”
12. Alvin Band- “Temple Pressure”
13. Darwin Deez- “Constellations”
14. Surfer Blood- “Swim”
15. Bishop Allen- “Dimmer”
16. Jupiter One- “Flaming Arrow”
17. Phoenix- “1901”
18. Pains of Being Pure at Heart- “Young Adult Friction”
19. Japandroids- “The Boys Are Leaving Town”
20. Julian Plenti- “Games for Days”


James Husband Releases Solo Debut

James Husband is not only the multi-talented musician from Of Montreal, he has a plan of his own. Husband who has been giving previews of songs on his Myspace since, well forever it seems, will release his solo debut Parallax l via Polyvinyl who is also home to Of Montreal. It took five yers to create between touring and the band’s heightened sucess, but you would never know it. The songs blend together perfectly. Husband’s voice is dreamy on the tracks . Is it to early for it to be my favorite album of the Fall? With retro sounding guitars and the catchiest beats we’ve heard in a long time , it has the sneak peak of the album making us beg for more. The record is out October 27th and Husband will also be appearing at CMJ on October 23rd. That is one show we are surely checking out.

Also be sure to check out Polyvinyl that is reissuing Of Montreal’s Coquelicot Asleep in the Poppies, Aldhils Arboretum, The Bedside Drama: A Petite Tragedy, The Bird Who Continues to Eat the Rabbit’s Flower, and The Early Four Track Recordings. You can buy them all in one package with James Husband’s Parallax l  on pink vinyl with a bonus disc featuring six cover songs. The two will also release a split 7″ this yearas part of the Happy Happy Birthday to Me Records singles club. This will feature Of Montreal’s “Wet Butcher’s Fist” and Husband’s “A Grave in the Gravel”.

Talk about a good year!

Check out James Husband on MYSPACE