Ezra Furman & The Harpoons Announce New LP

Ezra Furman & The Harpoons are set to release their third studio album, Mysterious Power, on April 5th. The Boston band’s first release for Red Parlor Records, Mysterious Power boasts the production power of Doug Boehm (French Kicks, Starsailor). Additionally, the band is looking forward to hitting the road in the spring- making an appearance at SXSW before embarking on a U.S. tour thereafter.

A familiar staple on critic’s year-end lists, Ezra Furman & The Harpoons gained acclaim for their 2008 album, Inside The Human Body, being lauded by NPR’s “All Songs Considered,’ Paste, and the Chicago Tribune. The foursome soon found themselves performing their mix of folk-punk alongside the likes of Lou Reed, Matisyahu, The Walkmen, Delta Spirit, and Spoon.

On Mysterious Power, Furman employs the same open-chest honesty that drew ire for Ginsberg’s Howl and spawned speculation of Cohen’s Chelsea Hotel, as Furman pines for his “Wild Rosemarie” in the opening track- recounting bouts of transience he experienced while making the album The Harpoons- Job Mukkada (bass), Adam Abrutyn (drums), and Andrew Langer (guitar)- deftly toy with dynamics, soldering rockabilly rhythm and love-struck doo-wop sensibility with punk rock ferocity.

Mysterious Power tracklist:

1.    Wild Rosemarie

2.    I Killed Myself But I Didn’t Die

3.    Hard Time in a Terrible Land

4.    Mysterious Power

5.    Teenage Wasteland

6.    Bloodsucking Whore

7.    Don’t Turn Your Back On Love

8.    Portrait of Maud

9.    Fall In Love With My World

10.Too Strung Out

11.Heaven at the Drive-In

12.Wild Feeling