The Duke Spirit Offer Up New Song, “Villain”

The Duke Spirit are giving us a taste of their upcoming album Bruiser, due out on Shangri-La Music out in Spring 2011, with a free download of their new track, “Villain,” premiered on

On this fiery track, we find the band’s leading lady, Liela Moss, on the piano, and singing as seductively as ever over hauntingly carnal guitar riffs. The British rockers are sure to leave you yearning for more new sounds with this one.

Listen to the “Villain” below, and download it for free HERE:

The Duke Spirit Announce New Album Details

London’s The Duke Spirit, return this coming Spring with a new album, entitled Bruiser. Bursting on the scene back in 2003 with the release of a single (“Darling You’re Mean”) and mini album (“Roll, Spirit, Roll”), The Duke Spirit have showcased their scuffed, soulful guitar aesthetic across a handful of albums, relentless touring and TV appearances on all the late night talk shows. With two LP’s and a handful of EP’s under their belt, The Duke Spirit have harnessed their sound as “completely enveloped in a shroud of huge emotion – a mix of warm swirling dissonance, minor chords and a pounding minimal ‘60’s rock rhythm section.” FILTER Magazine. With Bruiser, The Duke Spirit make a conscious effort to strip down the fuzz and create space in which the drums, guitar and bass have their own sonic place.


1. Cherry Tree
2. Everybody’s Under Your Spell
3. Villain
4. Don’t Wait
5. Surrender
6. Running Fire
7. De Lux
8. Procession
9. Northbound
10. Glorious
11. Victory
12. Homecoming