Smith Westerns Premiere New Video, Announce 2011 Tour Dates

Photobucket

Chicago’s Smith Westerns will release their sophomore LP, Dye It Blonde, on January 18 via Fat Possum Records. As hype surrounding the band continues to grow, thanks to their self-titled, self-released 2009 debut album, the trio are premiering Dye It Blonde‘s lead single, “Weekend” [#51 on Pitchfork’s Best Songs of 2010 List], as well as an accompanying video. Directed by Focus Creeps, the video gives you an idea of what a typical weekend is like for the band in their native Chicago. [Hint: cheese fries, Slurpees, and lumber-jacking all play pivotal roles. How diverse!]

The band is currently on a European tour supporting MGMT, and have announced a slew of early 2011 dates, including two NYC dates in January, as well as later dates with the UK band [and Fat Possum labelmates], Yuck.

Be sure to check out the complete list of 2011 dates, after the video:

http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=17777581&server=vimeo.com&show_title=1&show_byline=1&show_portrait=1&color=&fullscreen=1&autoplay=0&loop=0

Smith Westerns – Weekend from Fat Possum Records on Vimeo.

Tue-Jan 18: Brooklyn, NY – Glasslands
Wed-Jan 19: New York, NY – Pianos
Fri-Jan 28: Nashville, TN – The End*
Sat-Jan 29: Knoxville, TN – Pilot Light*
Sun-Jan 30: Chapel Hill, NC – Local 506*
Mon-Jan 31: Athens, GA – 40 Watt Club*
Tue-Feb 1: Atlanta, GA – Drunken Unicorn*
Thu-Feb 3: Orlando, FL – Backbooth*
Fri-Feb 4: Tallahassee, FL – Club Downunder*
Sun-Feb 6: Houston, TX – Fitzgeralds*
Mon-Feb 7: Austin, TX – Emos*
Tue-Feb 8: Dallas, TX – The Loft*
Thu-Feb 10: Phoenix, AZ – Rhythm Room*
Fri-Feb 11: Los Angeles, CA – Echo*
Sat-Feb 12: Costa Mesa, CA – Detroit Bar*
Sun-Feb 13: San Francisco, CA – Bottom of the Hill*
Tue-Feb 15: Portland, OR – Doug Fir Lounge
Wed-Feb 16: Vancouver, BC – Biltmore Cabaret
Thu-Feb 17: Seattle, WA – Crocodile Cafe
Fri-Feb 18: Boise, ID – Neurolux
Sat-Feb 19: Salt Lake City, UT – Kilby Court
Mon-Feb 21: Denver, CO – Larimer Lounge
Tue-Feb 22: Kansas City, MO – The Record Bar
Wed-Feb 23: Omaha, NE – Waiting Room
Thu-Feb 24: Minneapolis, MN – Triple Rock Social Club
Fri-Feb 25: Madison, WI – The Frequency
Sat-Feb 26: Chicago, IL – Empty Bottle
Mon-Feb 28: Toronto, ON – Legendary Horseshoe Tavern
Tue-Mar 1: Montreal, PQ – La Sala Rossa
Wed-Mar 2: Boston, MA – Great Scott

Fri-Mar 4: Washington, DC – Rock and Roll Hotel

^ = w/ MGMT* = w/ Yuck

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s