Cage The Elephant Drop Release Date, Tracklist for New LP

Cage the Elephant are looking to avoid the sophomore slump by releasing what could be viewed as a potential sophomore celebration.  The band will drop Thank You, Happy Birthday on Jive Records January 11, 2011 (that’s a lot of 1’s).  Cage has been touring pretty much non-stop for the last two years off the success of their debut LP, but finally found time to hit the studio in Nashville, TN with producer Jay Joyce.  Based on listed influences for the writing of the album, which include The Pixies, Mudhoney, The Butthole Surfers, and Dylan and Lennon interviews, it should be fairly raw both melodically and lyrically.  The band has mentioned an expanding of their sound to encompass a broader range of emotion, meaning they’ve refined how they tone things down too. 

The band is releasing a hinting 7″, “Shake Me Down”/”Aberdeen” on Record Store Day’s “Black Friday,” November 26, so be sure to support music in hard copy form and get a preview of the new album.  Tracklisting is below:

  1. Always Something
  2. Aberdeen
  3. Indy Kidz
  4. Shake Me Down
  5. 2024
  6. Sell Yourself
  7. Rubber Ball
  8. Right Before My Eyes
  9. Tangled
  10. Sabertooth Tiger
  11. Japanese Buffalo
  12. Flow
  13. Shiver

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s