Seapony Premiere Shiny New Video


Seapony’s first full-length album, Go With Me is out right now on Hardly Art, and now the group has matched the album with a brand new video.

The group’s new video off of the album is for the song “Where We Go” and features some pretty dramatic scenes that I won’t spoil for you. Check it out here and look for Seapony’s Go With Me wherever you get your music fix.

Yuck Premiere Video Alongside Tour Updates


U.K. band Yuck has updated their touring schedule, alongside dropping a new NSFW (and kind of creepy) music video to accompany the song “Shook Down.”

The band just wrapped up playing the Pitchfork Music Festival, along with several other show dates around the midwest region of the country. The band will be touring throughout July.

“All Shook Down” is a very soothing and peaceful song which makes the contrast with the music video much more creepy. Check it out right here

and look for Yuck at Pitchfork and these other dates:

7/28: Cellar Door, Visalia, CA *

7/29: Casbah, San Diego, CA *

7/30: Troubadour, Los Angeles, CA *

10/8 – 10/9: Langerado, Sunrise, FL


* = w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Slow Club Set Release Date For Sophomore Effort

British group Slow Club have finalized the band’s due date for their upcoming sophomore effort. The group’s Paradise on Moshi Moshi Records will be hitting the ‘States on September 13th.

The band has already released a music video for the upcoming album. You can watch a video for the song “Two Cousins” right here. If you dig the single, you can get it as a digital lone release July 26th, which should tide you over until Paradise is released in middle September.

Ted Leo Wraps Up Room 205 Recording Session


Ted Leo (sans Pharamacists) wrapped up his recording series from Room 205 with his classic tune “The Sword and The Stone.” The series was recorded in a bare, stripped down space and emphasized mainly Leo’s voice and sole guitar.

“The Sword and The Stone” comes from Leo’s 2005 EP Tell Balgeary, Balgury Is Dead.

You can watch the video for the recording right here.


Mayer Hawthorne Offers Up Covers EP


 Singer/producer Mayer Hawthorne has released a new EP of covers from artists from all over the world.

Impressions features songs from Electric Light Orchestra and Chromeo and was produced by Hawthorne. The artist has generously made the EP available for free for all his fans, you can hear it at Rolling Stone’s website, right here.

Hawthorne provides a little explanation for each of the six tracks, which you can read here. As he explains:

1. Work To Do- Isley Bros

This one features my live band, The County: Quentin Joseph on drums, Topher Mohr on guitar, Quincy McCrary on piano, and Joe Abrams on bass. It was recorded live in a radio station studio somewhere during our Winter 2010 US tour. The tapes recently surfaced, but nobody can remember exactly where we were. The song is originally by The Isley Brothers, and that’s the only version I was familiar with until we started playing it in our live shows and people would come up to us and say “hey, loved your cover of Average White Band!”.

2. Don’t Turn The Lights On- Chromeo

My favorite track from Chromeo’s latest LP. On the surface it’s an electro-funk, dance floor filler, but underneath is a brilliant love ballad with lyrics that reminded me of something from Tyrone Davis. Dave1 (of Chromeo) told me the song is about a guy who falls in love with a ghost, so I wanted my version to have an eerie, ghostly feel to it. Quincy McCrary played the creepy piano solo at the end.

3. You’ve Got The Makings Of A Lover- The Festivals

Textbook Northern Soul from a little known Dallas, Texas group called The Festivals. I was digging for records in NY with my homey DJ Kurse, and the shopkeeper played the 45 in the store. Both of us immediately ran up to the counter and said “yo! what is THAT?!”. The original version was recorded in the late 60s, and the mix isn’t very good. I wanted a version that I could bump. Quentin Joseph played the drums and we recorded them at Sam Beaubien’s studio in Detroit. That’s Sam playing the trumpet as well.

4. Fantasy Girl – Steve Salazar

This song was written and composed by an amazing man from Pasadena named Steve Salazar. He was born with a heart condition and passed away at the young age of 27. Before he died he recorded one incredible album of demos in the mid-70s with a band called Shorty’s Portion. Peanut Butter Wolf found a copy of the album and I loved it so much that he gave it to me (thanks Wolf!). The vinyl had a handwritten note tucked in the sleeve that was addressed to anyone who could help the band with management, a record deal, radio airplay, etc. I’d estimate there were less than 300 copies pressed. That’s my Dad playing pedal steel guitar on my version.

5. Little Person- Jon Brion

Jon Brion is not from this planet. He penned this song for the soundtrack to Charlie Kaufman’s film “Synecdoche, NY”. I didn’t get the film at all, but I really got the soundtrack. The original has only female vocal and piano, but I always heard a larger arrangement. Hubert Alexander played some of the piano and I did everything else.

6. Mr. Blue Sky- ELO

This one also features my band, The County, and was recorded live, in one take, in a tiny makeshift tent, at a festival in Dour, Belgium.

Listen to Sun Araw’s New Song


Sun Araw is preparing to launch their fifth studio album this August, when Ancient Romans drops on Sun Ark Records.

Specifically out August 23rd, the album will be heralded by a brief East Coast tour and a special preview of one of the songs off of the band’s new album, called “Crete.”

You can listen to Sun Araw’s newest song right here.